LET’S TALK ABOUT MILEY CYRUS’S VISUAL ART

As someone with an art degree, I take art very seriously. I also try to take an objective view of the art that I see. Lots of celebrities have ventured into the art world, Jay-Z, Shia LaBeouf, George W. Bush, and, of course, James Franco, to name a few, have tried their hand at visual art. Not a single one of those celebrities have elicited such a negative response toward their artwork like the controversial Miley Cyrus.

I’m a fan of Miley. I think her newly adopted persona, the one that was revealed to the world with Bangerz and “We Can’t Stop”, is a genius move in marketing. Seriously, think about it. We haven’t stopped talking about her since that happened and that was June 19, 2013. Over a year ago. She’s permanently imprinted on our culture, and when you’re a celebrity, that’s exactly what you want. I think her music is good pop music (for the most part, I shake my head at “4 x 4” and a few others). She’s great, I would pay to see her live, I think she’s funny and interesting and I just like her, I’m a fan. There are a lot of people that I know, and that you know, I’m sure, that feel very very strongly about Miley, and in the most negative way. Nothing she does can redeem herself. The ones who think that when she brought that homeless youth with her to the VMAs, she was “overdoing it”. With all of this being said, Miley’s antics have become more “eye-roll” than “gasp”, and that can definitely be said for her art, at least at first glance. The collection is called “Dirty Hippie”, which, let me just say, doesn’t entirely fit. This doesn’t look like a dirty hippie, this looks like a Michael Alig art show; club kids, party monsters, but not hippies. The giant bong, pictured above, looks like someone took a rave kid’s arm and stretched it so they could wear even more bracelets than they already do. There’s more to art than taking a glue gun to items you find in a time capsule from 1994 and morphing said items into a bong. But but but, it’s just a cluster of objects that don’t make any sense together! Oh, but how wrong you are, dear reader. Miley says of her art, “I try to put thought into everything. Even though it’s so stupid, I did the pineapple because you know what they say about pineapple, right?… Yummy cum? If you drink a lot of pineapple juice you’re going to have yummy cum. So that’s why I put it on the dick with a bunch of babies, and it says, ‘Fuck.’ I try to think about everything so it has a story to me.” So, that’s the thought process behind her art. Miley’s art is less deserving of a museum show and more deserving of an Etsy shop. Nevertheless, I’d still totally go see it.

what are your thoughts?

