FAVORITE THINGS: 10 APPS I LOVE

With the release of iOS 8, I found myself doing some last minute phone cleanup. I moved all my photos over to my laptop and deleted them off my phone (and what a beautiful change that was- I had so many useless photos on my phone!) and I deleted a few apps that I really didn’t use all that much anymore. That was the real struggle. I have a hard time convincing myself to delete apps even though I know I can just download them again at any time. I am app addicted. I will download just about any free app to see what it’s like. I usually end up downloading and deleting about 3 apps a week on average, making me, what I believe to be kind of an app connoisseur. With that being said, I’m going to let you in on what apps I have on my phone and love. I know, and you’re welcome.

Yoga Studio
Hands down the best yoga app. For the longest time, the only way I would do yoga was if it was with Chaz from the Yogamazing video podcast. Then my friend Haley recommended Yoga Studio, and because she spoke so highly of it, I paid the $3.99 that it costs and I’m so glad I did. There are tons of routines to choose from and you can even make your own with varying levels of difficulty. There are great options for what kind of workout you want to do, like yoga for back pain, quick yoga fix, deep relaxation meditations, sun salutations, etc. If you love yoga, you need this app.



Headspace
Headspace is a great app for people like me who want to learn how to effectively meditate. It’s a very aesthetically pleasing app that works almost like a game. You have 10 levels of meditations that last 10 minutes apiece. You start at level one and work your way to level 10, all the while learning the basics of meditation through very relaxing and helpful guided meditations.



Glow
If you are a woman and want to take control of your reproductive health, download Glow. That’s an order. It’s the best period tracking app available. The design is lovely and colorful and full of great features including helpful tips for the symptoms you’re experiencing and advanced notice of when your period will start.


Heads Up!
Heads Up! is the best party game. I would play it all the time with everyone if people didn’t think I was super weird for even just wanting to do that. It’s so easy to play. You hold the phone on your forehead with the screen facing your partner. A word or phrase will pop up on the screen and your partner’s goal is to get you to say as many correctly as possible. The variety of cards available is one of the best things about Heads Up!. There’s a 90s deck, a television show deck, movies, celebrities, accents and impressions, etc. etc. It’s so much fun. One of the coolest things about the app, though, is that it records a video while you play so you can go back and watch and laugh at how dumb you and your friends look.


QuizUp
I love a good quiz game, and QuizUp is the best quiz app for the iPhone. There is a plethora of topics to choose from. Literally anything and everything is on there. My most-played categories are Breaking Bad, The Oscars, Logos, Arrested Development, Girls, and Wes Anderson Films. Download it and let’s challenge each other!


Evernote
Everyone always talks about how great Evernote is and that’s because it’s the truth. I’ve been using Evernote since I got my first iPhone and I don’t plan to stop. Evernote is even more super now because it works as a widget with iOS 8, meaning that it shows up in your notification center for easy access. From the notification center, you can post directly to Evernote in multiple forms: text, camera, photos, reminder, or list. It’s a great app for bloggers (I use it to jot down any ideas for posts I have and to keep any photos or various tidbits of information I find and want to post later).


This American Life
One of a handful of apps that I’ve actually paid for, This American Life is superb. You have access to the every single episode of the podcast which is incredible. It’s a great listen for long road trips and commutes. If you aren’t familiar with This American Life, click here and discover what you’ve been missing out on.


Songza
If you’re still using Pandora for your internet radio, I feel bad for you. Songza is one hundred million times better than Pandora. You can choose stations depending on mood, activity, genre, decade, or you can use Songza’s concierge to pick a station for you. Trust me, go ahead and delete Pandora and download Songza.


VSCOcam
Hands down the best photo editing app. All my photos first go into VSCOcam, then…


Afterlight
…to Afterlight, mostly to make use of it’s framing (plain white, shapes, silhouettes, lettering, or polaroid) and the options to add light leak, instant film, or dusty photo effects.


So, tell me, what are some of your favorite apps?

8 thoughts on “FAVORITE THINGS: 10 APPS I LOVE

  1. Can we have a serious conversation as to why people are not as stoked as we are about This American Life? Firstly, your favorite episode right now (from a post I saw earlier) is seriously one of the few episodes I have saved on my phone. I have to say my favorite episode is Fiasco, with Rest Stop a really, really, really close 2nd. Secondly, I really like Spotify, but I’ll give Songza a try.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Have you listened to Dr. Gilmer & Mr. Hyde? It’s excellent, too. I love This American Life. I’m so happy you do, too!! You should definitely download Songza, or just go to Songza.com. It’s hands down the best internet radio. It’s how I discover new music and it’s the best for parties and road trips!

      Like

      • Ira Glass is the man. I was watching this new series Bojack Horseman and there’s an episode where there’s an NPR ringtone and it’s just Ira Glass thanking viewers for donating to NPR and I just burst out laughing. No one watching with me knew who he was though…which was sad. I tried Songza out, it’s hard to find a channel that I liked for a while, but once you find that one playlist, it’s THE ONE. So far, it’s been brilliant. Never heard of Gilmer/Hyde, I’ll give them a listen.

        Like

      • You are too kind!! I’m sure I’ll be doing a favorite blogs post eventually and you better believe I’ll include you!! I’m so glad you love Songza. It basically changed my life.

        Like

  2. I really love Afterlight, I didn’t know it existed until reading this. I’ve had VSCOcam for a while, those two really do pair well together.

    I also completely forgot about Quizup, I used to use that all the time. I was only ever bested once out of about twenty thousand rounds on the section for “The Office”.

    Liked by 1 person

what are your thoughts?

