COMING TO A CLOSE

We all know how this goes. People everywhere start making lists in December- all kinds of lists! Favorite films of 2014, favorite television shows of 2014, favorite songs of 2014, favorite albums of 2014, and of course, the most famous list (apart from the bucket list), a list of New Year’s resolutions. My New Year’s resolutions always seem to be the same things, which probably says a lot about what kind of person I am (procrastinator; lazy). BUT, I’m not here to talk about resolutions. Not yet. I  want to talk about something I’ve been working on since February of this year. Do you remember when Brooks Wheelan, the unfortunately short-lived SNL writer-turned-cast member, made a video-a-day of his life for a year? In case you don’t, you can watch it now so you’ll know what I’m talking about.

In case you didn’t watch it (you’re a moron if you didn’t), it’s a seven minute long video composed entirely of one-second clips from all 365 days in 2013. It’s set to Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains) by Arcade Fire and Maps by Yeah Yeah Yeahs. It’s genius, and it makes you want to get out and make the most of your life. I decided that I would do the same thing in 2014. However, I started in February (because I didn’t see this video until February) and I kind of stopped recording every single day sometime in the summer. I had a really good record going and I broke it one day completely by accident, beat myself up about it (because that’s the kind of person I am), and decided that from then on, I would just record moments when I saw fit. So I’ve been working on this video, and I’ve been editing it all in AfterEffects, and I’m hoping to have it done by New Years Eve so I can have it completed and start a true video-a-day for 2015.

Have you ever attempted the video-a-day/second-a-day? If so, post yours in the comments, I’d love to watch them!

Here’s a link to what I’ve done so far (kind of a trailer because I was really amped about the whole concept of this in the beginning)

One thought on “COMING TO A CLOSE

what are your thoughts?

